Tiny house in oz

Building a tiny house in oz

Why a tiny house

Leave a comment

Picture your last mortgage payment or weekly rent. What was it?? $200 , $300 or even $500+ what would have done with that money if you didn’t have to repay the loan? Travel? Education?? College fund for your kids? Work less maybe? If you take the minimal amount of $200 a week that equates to $10,400 a year. What would you do with an extra $10,000?? If your loan payments are $500 a week than that’s a whopping $26,000 a year on mortgage payments alone. The above doesn’t include interest, fees and charges, and other associated costs like repairing, heating, cooling and maintaining your house.

So why a tiny house??

1) Financial. I admit my reasons are firstly selfish. Instead of giving $26,000 to someone else, whether it happens to be the bank or your landlord, I am choosing to build a house. Not for everyone I understand. Two adults and five kids in a 130 sq ft tiny house is unrealistic. But for a single women with no plans of husband or kids, who has a fickle income. This is the perfect solution!! Tiny house means smaller bills, heating, cooling , repairing water, power etc. All lower on non existent in a tiny house

2) Simplify. I grew up in a normal middle class Aussie house. I love my parents they gave me everything I ever needed and I will be forever grateful. But now I have lots and lots of stuff. Stuff that is not needed. Stuff that needs to be maintained, repaired, stored etc. stuff that gets in the way if life. So I’m decluttering!! I’m building a tiny house to have what I need not what I want. To simplify life , to not be tied down by it. To make life less complicated and just easier. Yes I know this build will not be easy. I realise that this will be one of the hardest things ill ever do. But the end result is worth the journey.

Leave a Reply

